Frances McDormand to lead San Sebastian jury

Oscar-winning actress and Coen muse Frances McDormand is to chair the jury at this year’s San Sebasti├ín International Film Festival.

Her co-jurors are directors Alex de la Iglesia (Crimen Ferpecto) and Bent Hamer (Factotum), screenwriter Guillermo Arriaga (Babel), cinematographer Sophie Maintigneux (Venus Boyz) and actresses Bai Ling (The Crow) and Sophie Okonedo (Hotel Rwanda).

The SSIFF organisers have played their cards particularly close to their chests this year; the festival, which celebrates film from across the world but particularly focuses on Spanish, Latin American and Basque cinema, is due to start in just nine days.

Films screening include Julie Delpy’s Le Skylab, Martin Scorsese’s documentary George Harrison: Living in the Material World, Terence Davies’ The Deep Blue Sea (starring Rachel Weisz, who really is getting everywhere this year) and Albert Nobbs, an 18th century Irish transvestism drama starring Glenn Close. Bet you never saw that coming. Close will also be receiving a lifetime achievement award.

Are you heading to the SSIFF this year? Let us know below!

About The Author