Nominations announced for 2011 Moët British Independent Film Awards

The nominations have today been announced for the 14th annual Moët British Independent Film Awards, which are due to be held on the 4th December in London – and as usual a wide variety of independent British cinema stands to be honoured, with nominations ranging from high-profile star vehicles to ultra-low-budget indie flicks.

Shame, Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy and Tyrannosaur have each received seven nominations, with We Need to Talk About Kevin and Kill List scooping six each and five going to Submarine.

We’re also particularly pleased to see nods for Brendan Gleeson and John Michael McDonagh (Best Actor/Best Screenplay, The Guard), Joe Cornish and John Boyega (Best Debut Director/Most Promising Newcomer, Attack the Block) and Felicity Jones (Best Supporting Actress, Albatross). The nominations for the Variety Award, the Richard Harris Award for outstanding contribution to British film (last won by Helena Bonham Carter) and the Special Jury Prize have not yet been released; the others follow.

Best British Independent Film

Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy
We Need to Talk About Kevin

Best Director

Ben Wheatley – Kill List
Steve McQueen – Shame
Tomas Alfredson – Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy
Paddy Considine – Tyrannosaur
Lynne Ramsay – We Need to Talk About Kevin

The Douglas Hickox Award (Best Debut Director)

Joe Cornish – Attack the Block
Ralph Fiennes – Coriolanus
John Michael McDonagh – The Guard
Richard Ayoade – Submarine
Paddy Considine – Tyrannosaur

Best Screenplay

John Michael McDonagh – The Guard
Ben Wheatley, Amy Jump – Kill List
Abi Morgan, Steve McQueen – Shame
Richard Ayoade – Submarine
Lynne Ramsay, Rory Kinnear – We Need to Talk About Kevin

Best Actress

Rebecca Hall – The Awakening
Mia Wasikowska – Jane Eyre
MyAnna Buring – Kill List
Olivia Colman – Tyrannosaur
Tilda Swinton – We Need to Talk About Kevin

Best Actor

Brendan Gleeson – The Guard
Neil Maskell – Kill List
Michael Fassbender – Shame
Gary Oldman – Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy
Peter Mullan – Tyrannosaur

Best Supporting Actress

Felicity Jones – Albatross
Vanessa Redgrave – Coriolanus
Carey Mulligan – Shame
Sally Hawkins – Submarine
Kathy Burke – Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy

Best Supporting Actor

Michael Smiley – Kill List
Tom Hardy – Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy
Benedict Cumberbatch – Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy
Eddie Marsan – Tyrannosaur
Ezra Miller – We Need to Talk About Kevin

Most Promising Newcomer

Jessica Brown Findlay – Albatross
John Boyega – Attack the Block
Craig Roberts – Submarine
Yasmin Paige – Submarine
Tom Cullen – Weekend

Best Achievement in Production

Kill List
Wild Bill
You Instead

Best Documentary

Hell and Back Again
Life in a Day
Project Nim
TT3D: Closer to the Edge

Best British Short

Love at First Sight
Rough Skin

Best Foreign Independent Film

Animal Kingdom
A Separation
The Skin I Live In

The Raindance Award

Acts of Godfrey
Black Pond
Leaving Baghdad
A Thousand Kisses Deep

Best Technical Achievement

Chris King, Gregers Sall – Editing – Senna
Sean Bobbitt – Cinematography – Shame
Joe Walker – Editing – Shame
Maria Djurkovic – Production Design – Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy
Seamus McGarvey – Cinematography – We Need to Talk About Kevin

You made it! Do you think the right people have been nominated, or has a travesty occurred on BIFA’s watch? Let us know below!

About The Author